Review- VanityCask

THIS IS NOT YOUR AVERAGE BEAUTY REVIEW 

Next to my Patanjali toothpaste and Truly’s natural deodorant, on the side of the sink not cluttered with raw honey, a neti pot, organic cold pressed coconut oil and my favourite serums, lies a bunch of fancy-shmancy beauty products that I got from VanityCask, a periodic beauty box. They’re the good stuff, the stuff your face craves to have on, so for the sake of your skin read on.

Review- VanityCask

What is VanityCask?   

VanityCask is a beauty box that gets delivered to your doorstep periodically. It contains large samples (each sample lasts about 7 applications – enough for you to figure whether your skin wants more of it or not) of luxury beauty brands, handpicked by experts, to suit and cater to Indians. Review- VanityCask

What’s in it? Review- VanityCask

The box I got, a skincare-devoted box, contained 5 sample size (much larger than the average sample size stuff) products from international brands such as Clinique, Vichy, Votre, Kama Ayurveda and Thalgo. It also contained a booklet with details on how to use the products in the box + Rs. 3000 worth of vouchers.

Why do you need this in your life? Review- VanityCask

We all know that most luxury products provide better and more effective beauty solutions than other brands. But the challenge is, it costs too damn much to keep experimenting until you find the right product that actually works for YOU. I’m pretty sure none of us want to spend all that money on a full-size luxury product and then have it turn out to be absolute crap, or not worth the money, or a product that breaks you out in a rash. Sometimes online reviews just don’t cut it, because different products react differently on each of our skin. The only way to arrive at the right solution is to keep sampling and see what products suit you the best. Enter VanityCask, the solution to that hole in your beauty pocket.

Why do you need this on your face? Review- VanityCask

Let’s take a moment to talk about VanityCask’s partner brands and why our faces are probably craving this stuff.

Clinique is known for their hypoallergenic approach to skincare and have created some of the most respected and iconic must-have products till date. Some of you might know that I am allergic to nail polish, deodorant (which is why I use lemons as deodorant) and perfume, but fortunately Clinique’s nail polish doesn’t break me out or a cause a major itch. So yes, Clinique has earned my trust, which is why I was excited to try their ‘scrub cream’ as it’s called.

What it does:

It’s supposed to deflake and refine all skin types, open clogged pores, minimize the appearance of fine lines and prep the face for smoother makeup application.

How to use:

Apply it morning and night on makeup-free skin. Massage in circular motions using your fingertips for about 15 seconds. Rinse and gently pat dry.

Don’t forget:

To scrub your lips and use facial tissue to pat dry your skin. If you want to know why I prefer tissue to towels, ask me in the comments section.

My thoughts:

A good product that does what it says.

Would I buy the full size version?

Probably not. I’ve tried better, like this Origins GinZing Refreshing Scrub Cleanser I’m obsessed with.

Kama Ayurveda is a holistic beauty and wellness Indian brand, that uses only real, pure, high-quality, organic ingredients. I love most of their products, except their body oils (I think their body oils are their only product not comparable to Forest Essentials’).

What it does:

It’s meant to brighten, promote cell growth, reduce dark circles and pigmentation, which results in illuminated skin. It makes for the perfect night treatment for youthful, natural and radiant skin.

How to use:

Apply it at night over a cleansed face and neck.

Don’t forget:

To massage in the cream using upward strokes to prevent your skin from sagging.

My thoughts:

I love this stuff though my boyfriend thinks it leaves a very strong ‘natural(y)’ smell.

Would I buy the full size version?

I already have.

A leading skincare brand from France that is inspired by marine life and harnesses the riches of the sea for aesthetic use

What it does: Review- VanityCask

This mask is meant to plump up the skin, drench it in vital water and offer immediate, optimum hydration and a healthy-glow effect in just 10 minutes.

How to use:

Apply it directly with a brush (I just use my hands, they’re better and more accessible) in a thin layer over the face and neck. Leave it on for 10 minutes and wipe off whatever hasn’t been absorbed with a cotton pad. You don’t need to rinse it off with water.

Don’t forget:

To apply it before a special event for glowing, radiant skin.

My thoughts:

The product worked really well and definitely plumped up my skin. What I didn’t like was that this particular sample was quite small. I only got 2 applications.

Would I buy the full size version?

No, simply because it’s not really needed for my skin type. I would definitely recommend it for those with dry skin, more mature skin and those who live in colder (and drier) climates.

India’s patented bio-cosmetic brand that offers 100% botanical, vegan and cruelty free products. Votre’s products are developed in association with Ace laboratories in France and Tokyo and incorporate highly innovative, patented, active molecules imported from the US, Europe and Japan (Basically, it’s clinically tested, dermatologically approved fancy stuff).

What it does:

This rich, yet lightweight lotion, revives dry and dehydrated skin. It leaves skin super hydrated and soft.

How to use:

Apply it day and night over a cleansed face and neck.

Don’t forget:

To massage in the cream using your fingertips.

My thoughts:

I really liked their super clean and nourishing ingredients (my favorite pastime is reading labels) and this stuff smells so good- not too sweet or overly scented, which is what I like. It’s too thick for me to use during the day considering Chennai’s humidity levels, but I really liked it as a night cream.

Would I buy the full size version?

Yes, definitely. I’m travelling abroad this December, and I think this would make for the perfect day and night cream for those colder climates.

A premium skincare brand from France, that has been celebrated since 1931 for their therapeutic and restorative thermal spring water that they add to all their products.

What it does:

A hypoallergenic SPF 50+ formula that provides heavy duty sun protection, while being paraben-free.

How to use:

Apply liberally 15 minutes before sun exposure until thoroughly absorbed. If swimming or sweating, reapply immediately after towel drying.

Don’t forget:

To reapply every 2 hours.

My thoughts:

I really liked their formula, it doesn’t leave the skin feeling sticky which I find is the biggest issue with most sun protection creams. It absorbs right in and leaves the skin with a soft sheen.

Would I buy the full size version?

Yes, soon. I personally don’t use SPF on a daily basis (sue me) for reasons we shall discuss at another time (if you really really want to know why, ask me in the comments section), but I shall definitely stock up before my next big sunbathe+margaritas vacay.

My version of a SWOT analysis (because I miss college):

  • Strengths:
    • Test a variety of luxury beauty products at a fraction of the original cost.
    • Access to cult-status international luxury brands that are not the easiest to find in India
    • Figure out what works for you and what doesn’t before shelling out the big bucks.
    • Get updated with all the latest beauty trends and newest products on the market.
    • Products come in a cute pouch that you can reuse (I’m using mine to store jewellery).
    • Release new box categories periodically. Next up is a Haircare box and Bath & Body box.
  • Weaknesses: Review- VanityCask
    • All weaknesses can be made opportunities. Read on.
  • Opportunities:
    • Get cooler and more relevant vouchers, especially if it’s being advertised as a sales lure.
    • Enter your hair/skin type to get samples that target each consumer’s customised preferences.
  • Threats:
    • As a consumer, I don’t see any. I’m sticking with VanityCask.

How do you get your hands on a box?  Review- VanityCask

Rush to www.vanitycask.com. Click on GET THE BOX. Enter in all the required information. They ship it out. You pay on delivery of the box.

How much does it cost?  Review- VanityCask

Rs 999/- per box gets you products worth a lot more and Rs. 3000 worth of vouchers.

Is it worth the money? Seriously? Review- VanityCask

If you’re really going to think about this, then think of it like this… Buy yourself one less glass of wine this Saturday night, that will leave you with enough to spend on a VanityCask box. So yes, it is worth it. Don’t question pampering yourself, you deserve it. Review: VanityCask 

– For your convenience, by clicking on the underlined terms you will be redirected to a website where you can buy them from or learn more about them.

– Follow me on snapchat: ishikasachdev for daily updates and many hugs

– Follow VanityCask: Facebook, Instagram, Website

– Read about my absolute favourite skincare product here

– With the festive season approaching, check out this piece on personalized gifting solutions!

 

13 Comments
  • Shilpa
    February 13, 2017

    Why do you use facial tissue and not a towel?Which facial tissues do you use ?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      February 14, 2017

      Unless you use a clean and dry towel every time you pat your face, I recommend facial tissues because they are clean and bacteria free every time over. I use whichever ones my mum buys for the house… it keeps changing based on availability. Keep me posted. Have a great day and please don’t forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel to keep up with other health-beauty-recipe related content which I’m sure you will enjoy and make use of :) Moreover by subscribing you are making my day! ? Best, Ishika

      • Shilpa
        February 17, 2017

        Yeah subcribed to your youtube channel already.Thank you so much.

  • vaseline uses
    December 20, 2016

    Thanks for giving such a clear explanation about this article post, It’s very useful to us. I read your article and got such a great tips and remedies they very help us. You made this site is awesome. I like your site a lot and blog too

    • Ishika Sachdev
      January 31, 2017

      Thanks so much for your kind words. So happy to know that you find my blog posts useful and can benefit from them. Have a great day and please don’t forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel to keep up with other health-beauty-recipe related content which I’m sure you will enjoy and make use of :) Moreover by subscribing you are making my day! ?

  • Sneha
    November 10, 2016

    Hey Ishika,

    I have a love hate relationship with sunscree cause they are either sticky or leave whitish cast. I use sunscreen only when I’m travelling. I have always been worried about the chemicals in the sunscreen. Can you suggest one? Also have you tried shiseido ones?
    Hugs,
    Sneha

    • Ishika Sachdev
      November 11, 2016

      Hi Sneha,
      I’m not a big fan of sunscreen, but this is one of the few I like since it is doesn’t leave you feel sticky or coat your skin with a white film.
      I haven’t tried the Shisheido ones, since I am not a sunscreen fan hence don’t really experiment with it.
      The one I like and use (very very occasionally) is: http://amzn.to/2fHKR2P

      This is a post I wrote earlier about why I don’t use sunscreen often. If you’re interested, have a read.
      Over the years we are are fed so much bullshit from the beauty industry and it is crucial we do not just say yes to everything that is supposedly good without doing research into what we are actually putting on our bodies. We care so much about what we put in our bodies, so shouldn’t we also care about what we put on our bodies? Especially if it is something that we apply almost on a daily basis, like sunscreen. I am not saying we should give up using all chemicals, but at least question the products that we use so often to ensure they are doing more good than bad.

      So I don’t use sunscreen for numerous reasons:

      The chemicals present in the sunscreens cannot adapt to the sun’s rays the way our melanin pigment can. When these chemicals penetrate into out skin, it increases the amount of free radicals in our bodies, which is basically not good.
      My body naturally produces melanin which is a natural defense against UV radiation
      Sunscreen decreases Vitamin D synthesis. In this day and age, we anyway spend less time in the sun and more time indoors in AC rooms, which is why most of us are unknowingly Vitamin D deficient. No pant or animal source contains Vit D, the only way to get some is when our skin is exposed to sunlight. Our bodies then produce when exposed to ultraviolet B.
      If you’re in the sun too much, yes the chances of skin cancer are higher, it is more advisable to cover up and stay in the shade rather than using sunscreen.
      The sun doesn’t cause cancer, it is the reaction the sun has with a body filled with toxins and acidic food in combination which happens when we eat foods low in nutrients. It is important to eat the right foods to protect yourself against disease.
      If you really really have to use a sunscreen (like I do when I go on my high altitude treks in the Himalayas where the sun is very strong) then I recommend a zinc based, stick, sunscreens.

      For more info, check out these two articles that you can refer to.
      http://wellnessmama.com/55366/sunscreen-is-harmful/
      http://www.earthbasedmom.com/4-reasons-why-my-family-doesnt-wear-sunscreen-and-why-you-shouldnt-either/

      Hugs,
      Ishika

  • Dhanya chandran from snapchat :)
    October 17, 2016

    Hi Ishi
    Thanks for the review.Can i know why u r not using SPF on a daily basis

    • Ishika Sachdev
      October 17, 2016

      Hi Dhanya,
      Over the years we are fed so much bullshit from the beauty industry and it is crucial we do not just say yes to everything that is supposedly good without doing research into what we are actually putting on our bodies. We care so much about what we put in our bodies, so shouldn’t we also care about what we put on our bodies? Especially if it is something that we apply almost on a daily basis, like sunscreen. I am not saying we should give up using all chemicals, but at least question the products that we use so often to ensure they are doing more good than bad.

      So I don’t use sunscreen for numerous reasons:

      1. The chemicals present in the sunscreens cannot adapt to the sun’s rays the way our melanin pigment can. When these chemicals penetrate into out skin, it increases the amount of free radicals in our bodies, which is basically not good.
      2. My body naturally produces melanin which is a natural defense against UV radiation
      3. Sunscreen decreases Vitamin D synthesis. In this day and age, we anyway spend less time in the sun and more time indoors in AC rooms, which is why most of us are unknowingly Vitamin D deficient. No plant or animal source contains Vit D, the only way to get some is when our skin is exposed to sunlight. Our bodies then produce when exposed to ultraviolet B.
      4. If you’re in the sun too much, yes the chances of skin cancer are higher, it is more advisable to cover up and stay in the shade rather than using sunscreen.
      5. The sun doesn’t cause cancer, it is the reaction the sun has with a body filled with toxins and acidic food in combination which happens when we eat foods low in nutrients. It is important to eat the right foods to protect yourself against disease.
      6. If you really really have to use a sunscreen (like I do when I go on my high altitude treks in the Himalayas where the sun is very strong) then I recommend a zinc based, stick, sunscreens.

      For more info, check out these two articles that you can refer to.
      http://wellnessmama.com/55366/sunscreen-is-harmful/
      http://www.earthbasedmom.com/4-reasons-why-my-family-doesnt-wear-sunscreen-and-why-you-shouldnt-either/

      Hope that was helpful. Feel free to ask me any other questions that you may have. Wish you a great week.
      Best,
      Ishika

  • Divya
    October 15, 2016

    Hi Ishi
    I really really really really wanna know y u don wear a spf daily 😀

    Cheers
    Divya

    • Ishika Sachdev
      October 17, 2016

      Hi Divya,
      Over the years we are fed so much bullshit from the beauty industry and it is crucial we do not just say yes to everything that is supposedly good without doing research into what we are actually putting on our bodies. We care so much about what we put in our bodies, so shouldn’t we also care about what we put on our bodies? Especially if it is something that we apply almost on a daily basis, like sunscreen. I am not saying we should give up using all chemicals, but at least question the products that we use so often to ensure they are doing more good than bad.

      So I don’t use sunscreen for numerous reasons:

      1. The chemicals present in the sunscreens cannot adapt to the sun’s rays the way our melanin pigment can. When these chemicals penetrate into out skin, it increases the amount of free radicals in our bodies, which is basically not good.
      2. My body naturally produces melanin which is a natural defense against UV radiation
      3. Sunscreen decreases Vitamin D synthesis. In this day and age, we anyway spend less time in the sun and more time indoors in AC rooms, which is why most of us are unknowingly Vitamin D deficient. No plant or animal source contains Vit D, the only way to get some is when our skin is exposed to sunlight. Our bodies then produce when exposed to ultraviolet B.
      4. If you’re in the sun too much, yes the chances of skin cancer are higher, it is more advisable to cover up and stay in the shade rather than using sunscreen.
      5. The sun doesn’t cause cancer, it is the reaction the sun has with a body filled with toxins and acidic food in combination which happens when we eat foods low in nutrients. It is important to eat the right foods to protect yourself against disease.
      6. If you really really have to use a sunscreen (like I do when I go on my high altitude treks in the Himalayas where the sun is very strong) then I recommend a zinc based, stick, sunscreens.

      For more info, check out these two articles that you can refer to.
      http://wellnessmama.com/55366/sunscreen-is-harmful/
      http://www.earthbasedmom.com/4-reasons-why-my-family-doesnt-wear-sunscreen-and-why-you-shouldnt-either/

      Hope that was helpful. Feel free to ask me any other questions that you may have. Wish you a great week.
      Best,
      Ishika

  • Preethi Satagopan
    October 15, 2016

    I would like to know what is the reason of you not using a sunscreen on a daily basis?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      October 17, 2016

      Hi Preethi,
      Over the years we are are fed so much bullshit from the beauty industry and it is crucial we do not just say yes to everything that is supposedly good without doing research into what we are actually putting on our bodies. We care so much about what we put in our bodies, so shouldn’t we also care about what we put on our bodies? Especially if it is something that we apply almost on a daily basis, like sunscreen. I am not saying we should give up using all chemicals, but at least question the products that we use so often to ensure they are doing more good than bad.

      So I don’t use sunscreen for numerous reasons:

      1. The chemicals present in the sunscreens cannot adapt to the sun’s rays the way our melanin pigment can. When these chemicals penetrate into out skin, it increases the amount of free radicals in our bodies, which is basically not good.
      2. My body naturally produces melanin which is a natural defense against UV radiation
      3. Sunscreen decreases Vitamin D synthesis. In this day and age, we anyway spend less time in the sun and more time indoors in AC rooms, which is why most of us are unknowingly Vitamin D deficient. No pant or animal source contains Vit D, the only way to get some is when our skin is exposed to sunlight. Our bodies then produce when exposed to ultraviolet B.
      4. If you’re in the sun too much, yes the chances of skin cancer are higher, it is more advisable to cover up and stay in the shade rather than using sunscreen.
      5. The sun doesn’t cause cancer, it is the reaction the sun has with a body filled with toxins and acidic food in combination which happens when we eat foods low in nutrients. It is important to eat the right foods to protect yourself against disease.
      6. If you really really have to use a sunscreen (like I do when I go on my high altitude treks in the Himalayas where the sun is very strong) then I recommend a zinc based, stick, sunscreens.

      For more info, check out these two articles that you can refer to.
      http://wellnessmama.com/55366/sunscreen-is-harmful/
      http://www.earthbasedmom.com/4-reasons-why-my-family-doesnt-wear-sunscreen-and-why-you-shouldnt-either/

      Hope that was helpful. Feel free to ask me any other questions that you may have. Wish you a great week.
      Best,
      Ishika

Share your thoughts, beautiful human!