If I were told that I could use only one skincare product for the rest of my life, I would choose Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum (a.k.a ANR) without question.

I’ve been asked, on numerous occasions, to blog about my skincare routine; but before getting around to doing that I wanted to share with all of you, my absolute favorite skincare product. I’ve been on the ANR bandwagon for about three years and have probably gone through six bottles so far. ANR is the only product that I’ve used consistently for long periods of time (besides my Patanjali Toothpaste), and it’s the only product that lures me back when I stray. I experimented with a Shiseido serum and Chanel serums (pretty good stuff – reviewed here – but nothing compares to ANR) when I felt like trying something new and prettier (I’m a packaging junkie); but when they didn’t do much for my skin I donated them to my boyfriend and bought myself another bottle of my trusted ANR serum.

What is ANR?

ANR is essentially a moisturizing and anti-ageing serum, but to me it’s so much more! It claims to repair and purify the skin, which I believe it does.

How does it feel/smell/look?

This peach-toned, fragrance-free serum is a lightweight liquid that feels sorta slimy. It quickly sinks into the skin and leaves it appearing dewy but not oily.

What is in it?

  • A combination of vitamin and plant-based antioxidants – to repair and protect the skin against daily wear and tear.
  • A huge dose of hyaluronic acid – for hydrating and plumping the skin.
  • A shot of various other ingredients that I can’t pronounce – to purify the skin and improve cell turnover

Why I love it:

  • ANR helped calm my sensitive-dry-red skin during the harsh winters I spent at college in Switzerland.
  • ANR helped heal my skin after an intense bout of cystic acne.
  • ANR took care of my skins’ discoloration/pigmentation issues after I spent too much time in the sun.
  • ANR provides my skin with some serious moisture (without looking oily), even in Chennai’s hot and humid climate.
  • ANR has brightened up my skin and has left it radiant and smooth.
  • ANR apparently keeps wrinkles at bay, but I’m not too fussed about anti-ageing so I haven’t really paid attention to that aspect.

How do I apply it?

I use a generous dose of 4-5 drops of ANR every night after cleansing my face and neck. I squeeze the serum onto my palms and then I gently massage it onto my clean face and neck, followed by my favorite moisturizer.

What does my skin look like the morning-after?

ANR is sort of like my skin’s personal garbage disposal system that comes and picks up all the crap at night, and leaves my skin clear and glowing.

Will it work on everyone?

ANR is the perfect addition to a basic 3-step skincare routine and is suitable for all skin types and a wide age range. Even if you have great skin without any particular skin issues, this serum will still make your skin appear better. If you already have a solid skincare regimen and use products with high doses of AHAs and BHAs, then this is not your fairy-godmother-in-a-bottle.

Is it worth the money? Seriously?

It is worth all the hype (apparently one bottle sells every 8.5 seconds) and the cost, because it is SO SO SO SO good! There are a lot of overpriced products available in the market that claim miraculous things – this is not one of them. I seriously have not found one single product, till date, that is comparable to ANR.

Have you tried anything from the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair line? Are you just as impressed? Let me know in the comments section.

– For your convenience, by clicking on the underlined terms you will be redirected to the website where you can buy them or learn more about them.

– Get yourself some sleep in a bottle (ANR) here.

– Looking for another skincare saviour? Click here.

– All pictures used are unedited, without any filter and taken in natural light.

– The Beauty Reel was featured in India’s top 50 beauty bloggers *YAY*. Check it out here

Review: Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum

Review: Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum

 

34 Comments
  • Aswini Ramesh
    October 31, 2017

    Hi Great post 🙂 Ishika ! I’m 20 and would like to look after my skin well! I tend to hydrate myself well i do have a skincare routine which is typical clense,tone,moisturise routine! Can you please tell me the ideal age to start using the estee lauder advanced night repair serum ? and if not when is the right time to start using a serum and should i follow it up with a moisturiser? And any other tips?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      November 1, 2017

      Hi Aswini,
      Nice to hear from you again and so happy to know you enjoy the posts.
      20 is a good age to introduce the ANR serum. I started when I was 21, but I’d definitely recommend it for you.
      Yes, follow the serum with a light moisturizer. I’m currently using 1 from Avene which is light, gentle and has SPF.
      Hope that was helpful. Take care 🙂 xx

  • Archana Sharma
    October 8, 2017

    Hi Ishika,
    I bumped into your website just today and found your articles and videos very interesting and insightful.
    I want to know that i have uneven skin tone and scars left behind from acne..Also ocassional pimples once in a week or so.I have been actively seaching for a good serum to address these problems and had been confused between Keihl’s Clearly Corrective and Clinique Dark Spot Corrector and now i saw your article.
    Can you please help solve my dilemma. 🙂

    • Ishika Sachdev
      November 1, 2017

      Hi Archana,
      I know how frustrating it is choosing between two highly recommended products and brands, and I apologize that I was unable to be there for your skin earlier.
      I honestly recommend Estee Lauder’s Advanced Night Repair Serum over ANY other serum out there. I have tried them all from Kiehl’s to Clinique to SK II to Chanel to Kama Ayurveda to Juicy Chemistry…. and I ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS go back to Estee Lauder’s ANR. Somehow that works best for me. I hope it will for you too.
      It’s an all in one serum that will do your skin good.
      Hope that was helpful, and not too late.
      Best,
      Ishika

  • Pradnya Naik
    September 4, 2017

    Loved your post, thanks for the share

    xoxo
    Pradnya
    Dusky Beauty

  • mounica
    February 13, 2016

    hi ishika
    i have oily skin with open pores,uneven skin tone and my skin doesn’t look smooth.can you suggest me any home remedies. does this serum work for oily skin.
    thanks.

    • Ishika Sachdev
      February 15, 2016

      Hi Mounica,
      Hope you’re well.
      This serum works great for oily skin, especially for uneven skin tone! I know exactly how you feel and how your skin feels, cause for the longest time I was in the same boat. This serum along with this facial routine (and a healthier diet) completely changed the way my skin felt and appeared. I suggest you try the serum and the facial routine, link here -> http://thebeautyreel.com/mind/natural-bridal-facial-diy-facial-for-glowing-skin/
      Do let me now the progress and keep me posted. Have a lovely week.
      Best,
      Ishika

  • praveen Sony
    January 13, 2016

    Hey Ishika, how are you doing?:) I’ve been using the chili oil remedy suggested by you for 2 to 3 months now and my hair fall has considerably gone down, thanks to you. 🙂 I recently came across a article about apple cider vinegar for lightening skin tone and to take care of dark circles , I just wanted to know if this will really work. What’s your take on it?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      January 20, 2016

      Hi Praveen, Hope you’re well. Thanks for your kind words. I’m so glad to know that you have been applying Chilli Oil consistently and that it has worked well for you. 🙂 YAYYY!! Regarding apple cider vinegar, I personally believe it is too harsh for the skin but if you want to use it be sure to seriously dilute it. So 2 caps, about 10-15 ml, of pure organic ACV (not the marketed bottled stuff which is 99% rubbish) in 1 litre of filtered drinking water. This can be used as a toner if you have oily skin. I seriously do not recommend putting it around the eye area!
      Regarding dark circles check out this video I did which might be useful for you. Let me know what you think of it. https://erosnow.com/secured/embed/6603150
      Have a lovely day. Best, Ishika

      • praveen Sony
        January 20, 2016

        thanks Ishika…. 🙂 I’ll try out the dark circle remedy and update you…..

  • Sonika
    December 14, 2015

    Cool. Any tips on undereye circles?

  • Monika Dey
    October 21, 2015

    Hey Ishita, hope you are doing good.. I have been a silent reader of your blogs and love it to the core.. I added many things on my beauty routine after reading your blogs like the chilli oil and oil pulling etc. and it works really good.. Thank you so much for sharing.. I am considering to buy this serum.Hope it helps me out to even my skin tone..Much love xxxx Monika

    • Ishika Sachdev
      October 25, 2015

      Hi Monika, hope you are well. Thank you for your kind words and for getting in touch. I love hearing from my readers, and especially when they’ve had a good experience with one of the natural treatments! So glad to hear that you’ve incorporated the Chili Oil and Oil Pulling in your routine. I strongly recommend this serum. In fact I have been travelling over the last 3 weeks (hence the late response to your comment) and stocked up on 2 bottles of this serum from the airport duty free (proof on my snapchat account – ishikasachdev) because I believe that it is that good!! Let me know if you end up trying out the serum too. Have a beautiful week and keep me posted. Lots of love, Ishika

  • Babithasridhar
    September 27, 2015

    Hi ishi:) ,can you plz tel me where can I get this in Bangalore ,would definitely wanna get my hand on it.

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 27, 2015

      Hi Babitha, You can get it at any Estee Lauder store in one of the malls in Bangalore. Unfortunately I’m unfamiliar with the malls and where they have what stores, but I’m sure any popular mall which has other beauty brands, should have Estee Lauder as well. Or you could get it online by clicking on the term ‘ANR’ in the blog post which will automatically redirect you to a webpage where you can purchase it from. Have a great day and let me know once you get your hands on this! Also, please do subscribe to my YouTube channel – https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBeautyReelTBR – to be updated and get exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox + it will mean a lot to me! 🙂 Big hug x

  • ChicPeachyPink
    September 27, 2015

    I have tried a lot about this serum and even tried a deluxe sample of it but sadly I have not seen any drastic results

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 27, 2015

      Hi, aah sad to hear that you didn’t see any drastic results. Like any other product or treatment, one needs to be consistent with it’s application. Did you use it for at least a week to ten days consistently? I found that it really brightened up my skin and made it just appear healthier overall. Do let me know what other skincare products you use, enjoy and found results with so I may try them out as well. Also, please do subscribe to my YouTube channel – https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBeautyReelTBR – to be updated and get exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox + it will mean a lot to me! 🙂 Big hug! xx, Ishika

  • Annapurna Joshi
    September 24, 2015

    Hey Ishika di, I am having many pimples these days and also pigmentation around chin and a bit on forehead , these are because of my hormonal problems for which I’m taking medicine still please tell me if this serum would help me to get rid of pimples , dark spots, and pigmentation.. I have heard a lot about the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate and was about to buy it until I read ur review for the Estee Lauder ANR and now I’m confused please help me out…I’ll be very thankful to u.

  • Accidental beauty blogger
    September 24, 2015

    I’ve heard a lot about the kiehls midnight recovery. Is this one as good ? Or better ?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 26, 2015

      Much better, in my opinion. I’ve used that as well, and did enjoy it, but that is a dry oil cannot really replace a serum (the serum sinks into your skin faster and better). If I had to pick, based on how much my skin enjoyed each product, I would choose this serum. If you have the midnight recovery oil and normal to dry skin, then you can also apply a few drops of the oil over the serum (for a double boost of goodness) instead of your moisturiser at night. Hope that helps! Do check out and subscribe to my YouTube channel to be updated on beauty content – https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBeautyReelTBR. Have a lovely day and let me know which one you end up trying first. Big hug.

  • ekta
    September 24, 2015

    Hey! Would this work for treating acne scars ?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 24, 2015

      Hi Ekta, it definitely will! I used it post a crazy bout of cystic acne and it did wonders. If your acne scars are very deep and pretty old, then it will help fade them over time but I don’t think it will completely make them go away. For that you might have to see your dermatologist regarding facial peels. Hope this answers your query, do let me know if you have any other questions. Keep me posted and have a great week. Also please do subscribe to my YouTube channel and my blog for exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox. Best, Ishika

  • Swati dixit
    September 23, 2015

    Hii ishi 🙂
    Im facing loads of acne these days ….Which leave blemishes plus i have freckled skin will this work for iam also on a regime that is hardly working please do help out.

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 24, 2015

      Hi Swati, hope you’re well! 🙂 How long have you been on your current skincare regime for? If it’s been over 6 weeks, and it hasn’t done much then maybe it is time to change up the routine. Do let me know and we can take it from there. Regarding your acne, there are numerous reasons why you may be getting them… 1) What you eat, 2) Hormones, 3)What you apply on your face. In regards to how food affects the skin and if that is the reason, then avoid sugary foods as that is the number 1 cause of acne (no matter what anyone else tells you). Sugar is directly related to acne. If you’re eating healthy and still breaking out, then it may be hormonal – for that the doc should be able to advice you how to proceed. In regards to your skincare, let me know what you’re using currently and how long you’ve been using the products for and then I can give you better suggestions. If you have any more questions or want more details in regards to foods relation to acne, then do let me know! Have a great week and keep me posted. Also, check out these three posts as it is a good place to start with the acne treatment:
      1. Do this weekly – http://thebeautyreel.com/mind/natural-bridal-facial-diy-facial-for-glowing-skin/
      2. Do this everyday – http://thebeautyreel.com/mind/oil-pulling/
      3. Do this everyday if you have access to fresh coconut water – http://thebeautyreel.com/eat/fermenting-coconut-water/
      Big hug and best,
      Ishika

  • sush
    September 23, 2015

    Hi, I like your writings. ..the way you put your thoughts is amazing. . Have you tried the Guerlain products? Just saw few positive reviews of Abeille Royale series. .thought of picking up. Now after reading your Estee Lauder review. .A bit confused. ..What do you think?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 23, 2015

      Hi Sushmita, Hope you’re well. Thanks for your appreciation – means a lot to me. I have tried out (and love) some of the Guerlain makeup but I’ve not tried their skincare range yet. My friend uses the Guerlain Orchidee Imperiale serum and swears by it. She has wonderful skin as well, but I find that the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair works as well and is relatively more affordable. I have not tried the Abeille Royale series, but it does look great! I suggest starting with Estee Lauder serum because I know it works and maybe try out the Guerlain one afterward when you want to switch up your skincare? 🙂 Do let me know what you decide and when you do try the Abeille Royale series, please let me know so I can go get myself some too based on your review! Also do check out my other skincare related posts here – http://thebeautyreel.com/glow/ Have a lovely evening and keep me posted. Best, Ishika

  • Ganga
    September 23, 2015

    Hi ! Will it improves the skin tone?

    • Ishika Sachdev
      September 23, 2015

      Hi Ganga, hope you’re well. It definitely will! It works to even out the skin tone and takes care of pigmentation issues as well. I truly believe the product is a miracle potion. Do try it out and let me know how it worked for you. Have a lovely week and keep me posted.
      Best, Ishika

  • Ishika Sachdev
    January 31, 2017

    Thank you so much for your kind words. So happy to know you enjoy the blog! Have a great day and please don’t forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel to keep up with other health-beauty-recipe related content which I’m sure you will enjoy and make use of :) Moreover by subscribing you are making my day! ? Best, Ishika

Share your thoughts, beautiful human!